Skip to content

Sweet Potato Fries

May 5, 2011

I had been craving fries like a mofo for the past few weeks. I don’t typically go after salt, but for some reason, I just couldn’t shake the hankering. I just about gave in the other day when I spotted a lone sweet potato chillin’ on my counter. I very much doubted a sweet potato could satisfy my fix, but I was entirely wrong.  These fries were so much better and far more healthy than average fries. Sweet potatoes are a fabulous alternative to the traditional potato; they’re nutritional divas. Vitamin A, Vitamin C, iron, naturally occurring sugars, protein, potassium, and fiber are just some of the highlights worth mentioning. Guess what else they can do? Lower your blood sugar — weee! The Center for Science in the Public Interest has consistently ranked the sweet potato number one in nutrition over all vegetables by a whopping 100 points. These fries are sweet, savory, and packed with flavor! Bonus: guilt-free.

Ingredients

  • sweet potato
  • olive oil
  • sea salt
  • ground black pepper
  • cayenne pepper
  • garlic powder

Directions
Preheat the oven to 450.

Rinse your sweet potato and dry thoroughly.

Leave the skin on (adds nutrition!) and slice the potato into 1/2″ fries. Try to be consistent so they cook evently.

In a large bowl, combine enough olive oil to coat your potatoes, and add your seasonings to taste.

Toss the fries in the olive oil mixture and coat well.

Transfer the fries to an unprepared baking sheet, making sure they’re not overlapping.


Cook the fries for 15 minutes and flip them for another 10 minutes. Keep an eye on them, though, as they’ll cook faster depending on their size.

Note: I prefer my fries on the softer side. So, if you’re lookin’ for more of a crunch, I recommend cutting your fries a bit thinner and cooking a bit longer. Just keep an eye on them!

Dipping Sauce
I mixed a bit of light mayonnaise, horseradish, garlic salt, lemon juice, and dill!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lenny permalink
    May 6, 2011 12:03 pm

    You’re a sweet potato!

Leave a comment