Skip to content

Kale Chips

March 24, 2011

Kale is definitely one of the leafy superfoods! Even after baking it retains high levels of Vitamin A and Vitamin C. It’s also high in calcium and potassium. It’s taken a couple years for me to see kale as something other than what I used to feed my bearded dragon, Oliver (yes, I had a lizard). I’m not a huge fan of raw kale; however, the baking process reduces the bitterness, and the outcome is divine! I’m not going to sit here and insist that kale chips will satisfy your potato chip cravings, because that would be a lie. I will say that stuffing your face with these babies, rather than the potato chips, will make you feel a hell of a lot better about yourself. The recipe is pretty effortless, so give ’em a try! If you don’t love them, go stuff your face with potato chips. No judgment here!

Directions
Just wash your bunch of kale, cut off those obnoxious stems, and tear your kale into chip-size pieces. Toss ’em in a bowl with some olive oil and sea salt (or whatever spices/herbs/seasonings you fancy).Spread your kale in a single layer on an unprepared baking sheet.

Cook them in a 350°F oven for 10-15 minutes until they’re crunchy.

These can be enjoyed on their own or with a dipping sauce. I usually whisk some ketchup, sriracha sauce, and brown sugar together. Next time I get my hands on some horseradish, I’m going to make a creamy horseradish and bleu cheese dip. I could seriously eat these allllllll day. omnomnomnom.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Nancy Redden permalink
    April 4, 2011 9:45 am

    Hi Laura
    You may not remember, but I am a friend of your mothers. But that is not why I’m “commenting” to you. I love your blog and had to share my pleasure with you.
    I tried your recipe for Kale Chips last night and they were amazing. I had my doubts that these leafy green tidbits would be crunchy and not bitter. I was WRONG!
    Go figure. Yum Yum. Even my husband, who is a veggiephobe, ate them and seemed to enjoy them, but not as much as me. HA Thanks again . I’ll be trying your black bean burgers next. Can’t wait.

    • April 18, 2011 1:13 pm

      Thank you, Mrs. Redden! Of course I remember! I’m so glad you enjoyed the kale chips, and please let me know how the burgers turn out!

Trackbacks

  1. Sesame Kale Salad « Purdy Good Eats

Leave a comment