Skip to content

Sesame Kale Salad

April 18, 2011
tags: , ,

I’ve been making a solid effort the past few months to incorporate kale into my diet. I know I shared this information here but just to reiterate: kale is an excellent source of Vitamin A, C, K, and B6. It’s also packed with dietary fiber, calcium, iron, and potassium. When compared to spinach, we know that our bodies better retain the calcium present in kale than in spinach since it has less oxalic acid, a substance that can interfere with absorption. It also has higher levels of Vitamin K and contains high levels of cancer-protective biochemicals, which has been the highest area of research for this leafy veggie.

Since I’m not the biggest fan of raw kale, I’ve been exploring other preparatory methods which still retain high levels of its nutritional benefits. I alternate between adding raw spinach and kale to my morning smoothie, which really masks its natural bitterness. Other than that, I’ve been staying loyal to my kale chips. Last summer I had a salad similar to this while I was down in Tennessee, and I was obsessed. It was from Earth Fare, an organic food market which I assume takes the form of Whole Foods in the north. I couldn’t find it at Whole Foods or any similar health food markets in Madison, so I decided to try my best to recall the flavors and recreate it myself. Turns out this sesame kale salad is fairly common; and, if I had consulted Google as I usually do, I would have saved myself the time, stress, and gas money that accompanied my several trips to markets all over Madison. Woo! This salad is so quick and simple, yet it tastes like it’s been infusing for days with the deep flavor of toasted sesame. Another bonus is that it requires very few ingredients, and those which may not be conveniently sitting in your kitchen cabinet will last a very long time.

Ingredients

  • 2 bunches of kale, rinsed and stems discarded
  • 1/4 c. sesame oil
  • 2 Tbsp. soy sauce (low sodium, always)
  • 2 Tbsp. sesame seeds, toasted
Directions

Tear the kale into bite-size pieces.

In a large microwave-safe bowl, add about 1/4 c. of water, the kale, and seal it tightly with plastic wrap. *According to The Plastics Division of the American Chemistry Council (ACC), it is safe to use plastic wrap in the microwave. They recommend leaving at least 1 inch between the plastic and the food in order to prevent the plastic from melting.

Steam the kale in the microwave for approximately 3 minutes, checking it after each minute. You’re looking for the kale to become wilted but not mushy. When removing the plastic wrap from the bowl, be very careful not to burn yourself from the steam like I did.

While the kale is cooling, toast the seeds alone in a small pan on medium heat, shaking occasionally. You’ll know they’re done when they become fragrant and lightly browned.

Once the kale has sufficiently cooled, gently squeeze out as much moisture as you can, and place kale in a clean bowl.

Add the remaining ingredients, toss, and serve cold!

No comments yet

Leave a comment